EdgeofMountain

adventures…

The story of Chilly the Adventure Chicken

Leave a comment

I am Chilly the Chicken and this is my story.

I was birthed with my brothers and sisters of various colors, at a plastics production plant. I was blessed with bright yellow as my color. A few of my siblings and I were boxed and placed in a truck. We all wondered where we would go and what life would be. We were trucked to Roanoke, Virginia and placed in a store. I liked this Roanoke place instantly and wanted to experience it fully, among other places. We sat in the store and again wondered what life would hold. One day, a lady with long blonde hair and an Iron Man shirt on picked us up and smiled. This is promising! I do not know what an Iron Man is, but she looks adventurous and fun.

The blonde lady took us to her home and not much happened the first night. Again, we wondered what life would hold and what was next. The next morning, there was excitement in the air. The lady had excited friends in her driveway on bicycles. They were chatting it up about a big birthday adventure…oh it was the lady’s birthday! Each friend was given one of us. Things are building up and this is exciting.

I was given to a man and we were all strapped on their bicycles. We were all overcome with excited fear of the unknown. They took a group picture and took off at what seemed like to us, a high speed! We had never felt wind and open air like this before. How exhilarating! We found out that when they squeezed us that we made excited noises. They got a kick out of this and made their own excited noises. They kept riding their bikes. We went up and down big mountains and saw amazing views. We all had so much fun. We were in shock over all of this. What a day! We wondered if this would be a one time thing or is this our life going forward. We prayed and hoped that his was a forever life.

Our new owners left with us. This was another change. So many changes in just a few days. Again we wondered what was next and what life would be like. Before this we had not ever been separated out. 

My owner took me to his home. I felt like he was trying to decide what to with me going forward. I sat on a shelf for a while. I was scared his nice dog may do something with me, but she never did..whew.

One day, he grabbed me and placed me with some adventure gear and luggage. We got in a car with his family and drove a long way. Again I wondered what was happening..is this another adventure? We visited this place with big mountains and views. I found out it is called the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. I figured this out when he placed me on a big sign for a picture. I was in shock over all of this. He and his family took me on a hike after that. We saw mountains, waterfalls, big views and turkeys. These turkeys looked a little similar to me and my siblings, without the bright colors!

After we got back home, my owner was gifted a koozie/drink holder that is also a sleeping bag. I may look like I have feathers but I DO NOT! I have nothing on my skin and get cold a lot. I get especially cold on these fast bike rides and mountain hikes, plus I needed a place to sleep. My owner checked to see how the koozie bag fit if I was placed in it. Perfect! It is so warm, cozy, and snug! 

My owner thought about naming me Charlie but later he decided on Chilly. He had a college buddy whose nickname was Chilly and I always looked cold and chilly, that is how I got my name.

I have seen my siblings at other group adventures and we always have fun. We always go back with our owners. We have realized this is our life and it is fantastic.

My owner also takes me on other adventures with just him and his family or friends. Other than the Smokies National Park, we have been to the Day Creek/Blackhorse Gap area for a trail run. Another adventure was what my owner called the Rockstar bike route. I was in a picture early in the morning on his bike, and then he and a friend rode 160 miles in Western Virginia!

I even got to experience Christmas!

I keep wondering what is next but the wondering is different than before. I know this is my life and it is great. Now I wonder what adventure is next. I hear talk of going to Colorado and Arizona this year..I wonder what Colorado and Arizona is and what we will do? Hmmm…

Author: EdgeofMountain

This blog is all about running adventures for now, but that could change at any time.

Leave a comment